Skip navigation

Jimi Hendrix  was an American guitarist, singer and songwriter. Hendrix is considered one of the greatest and most influential guitarists in rock music history. After initial success in Europe, he achieved fame in the USA following his 1967 performance at the Monterey Pop Festival. Later, Hendrix headlined the iconic 1969 Woodstock Festival.

hendrix19dj.jpg

Hendrix helped develop the technique of guitar feedback with overdriven amplifiers. He was influenced by blues artists such as B.B. King, Muddy Waters, Albert King, and Elmore James,rhythm and blues and soul guitarists Curtis Mayfield, Steve Cropper, as well as by some modern jazz

Carlos Santana has suggested that Hendrix’s music may have been influenced by his Native American heritage.As a record producer, Hendrix also broke the line of experimentation in using the recording studio as an extension of his musical ideas; he was one of the first to experiment with stereophonic effects during recording.

He wrote some timeless song like “Sunshine of your love”, “Hey Joe”, “Foxey Lady”, “Voodoo Child”… I am going to stop here because I can quote his song for a month!! As you can see this kid from Seattle had an impact on his generation and on our generation. He died at the age of 27, and he take away a part of our heart, a part of our soul…

You’ll never be forgotten!!

HEY JOE

(1967) 

Hey Joe, where you goin’
With that gun in your hand?
I said now
Hey Joe, where you goin’
With that gun in your hand?

Goin’ down to shoot my old lady
‘Cause you know
I caught her messin ’round town
I’m goin’ down to shoot my old lady
‘Cause I caught her messin’ ’round
With another man

Hey Joe, I heard
You shot your woman down, shot her down
Hey I said, hey Joe I heard
You shot your woman down
Shot her down to the ground

Yes I did, I shot her
‘Cause I caught her messin’ ’round town

Hey Joe, I heard
You shot your woman down, shot her down
Well I said, oh hey Joe
I heard you shot your woman down
Shot her down, shot her down

Yes, yes I did, I shot her
‘Cause I caught her messin’ ’round town

Hey Joe, where you gonna run to now?
I said, I said hey Joe
Where you gonna run to now
Where you gonna go?

Well dude, I’m goin’ down south
Way down to Mexico way
I said I’m goin’ down south
Way down to Mexico way

Leave a Reply

